## **3.** Interpretation

In this Act, unless the contrary intention appears —

"agreements" means the agreements set out in Schedules 1 to 10;

- "chairperson" means the person appointed under section 6 (1) (a) to be chairperson of the Corporation;
- "chief executive officer" means the chief executive officer of the Corporation appointed under section 11 (1);

"Corporation" means the Rural Adjustment and Finance Corporation of Western Australia preserved and continued by section 4 (1);

- "eighth agreement" means the agreement set out in Schedule 8;
- **"fifth agreement"** means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 5, as amended by the sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth agreements;
- **"first agreement"** means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 1;
- **"fourth agreement"** means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 4;
- "Funds" means the Funds specified in section 16 (1);
- **"member"** means a member of the Corporation appointed under section 6 (1);
- "ninth agreement" means the agreement set out in Schedule 9;
- **"Registrar of Deeds and Transfers"** means the Registrar of Deeds and Transfers appointed under the *Registration of Deeds Act 1856*;
- "Registrar of Titles" means the Registrar of Titles appointed under the *Transfer of Land Act 1893*;
- "repealed Act" means the *Rural Adjustment and Finance Corporation Act 1971*;
- **"rural assistance scheme"** means a scheme established under section 14 (1) or a scheme referred to in section 14 (2);
- **"rural industry"** means agricultural, horticultural, aquacultural, pastoral, grazing or dairying industries carried on in the State and includes poultry farming, dairy farming, bee keeping and viticultural operations;
- "scheme" means any scheme referred to in section 5 (1) (a);
- "second agreement" means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 2;
- **"seventh agreement"** means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 7;
- "sixth agreement" means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 6;
- "tenth agreement" means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 10;
- "third agreement" means the agreement between the Commonwealth and the State set out in Schedule 3.

[Section 3 amended by No. 29 of 1995 s.8.]