

PERTH, FRIDAY, 2 DECEMBER 2005 No. 222 PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY JOHN A. STRIJK, GOVERNMENT PRINTER AT 8.30 AM

SPECIAL

© STATE OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Local Government Act 1995

City of Joondalup (Dismissal of Council) Order 2005

Made by the Lieutenant-Governor and Administrator in Executive Council.

1. Citation

This order is the City of Joondalup (Dismissal of Council)
Order 2005

2. Commencement

This order comes into operation on the day on which it is published in the *Gazette*.

3. Council of City of Joondalup dismissed

Under section 8.25 of the Act and on the recommendation of the Minister under section 8.24(3) of the Act, the council of the City of Joondalup is dismissed as from the day on which this order comes into operation.

4. Commissioners appointed

Under sections 8.33, 2.39 and 2.40 of the Act —

- (a) the following people are appointed as commissioners of the City of Joondalup until a new council is elected and holds its first meeting
 - (i) John Malcolm Paterson;
 - (ii) Peter Michael Clough;
 - (iii) Anne Elizabeth Fox;

- (iv) Stephanie (Steve) Smith;
- (v) Michael Peter Anderson;
- (b) John Malcolm Paterson is appointed to be the chairperson of the commissioners; and
- (c) Peter Michael Clough is appointed to be the deputy chairperson of the commissioners.

5. Poll date fixed for election of new council of City of Joondalup

Under section 8.34 of the Act, 6 May 2006 is fixed as the day for any poll needed for the election of a new council for the City of Joondalup.

6. Direction as to terms of office of new councillors of City of Joondalup

- (1) The direction in this clause is made under section 9.62 of the Act.
- (2) For the purposes of sections 2.28 and 4.78 of the Act and Schedule 4.2 to the Act, and despite clauses 1, 2 and 5 of that Schedule, the returning officer is directed to fix terms of office for the councillors who are elected on 6 May 2006 that result in
 - (a) as near as practicable to ½ of them retiring in 2007; and
 - (b) the remainder of them retiring in 2009.

By Command of the Lieutenant-Governor and Administrator,

M. C. WAUCHOPE, Clerk of the Executive Council.