



PERTH, WEDNESDAY, 17 SEPTEMBER 2014 No. 143 SPECIAL

PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY JOHN A. STRIJK, GOVERNMENT PRINTER AT 10.00 AM © STATE OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

Local Government Act 1995

Local Government (City of Canning - Dismissal of Council) Order 2014

Made by the Governor in Executive Council.

1. Citation

This order is the *Local Government (City of Canning - Dismissal of Council) Order* 2014.

2. Commencement

This order comes into operation on the day on which it is published in the *Gazette*.

3. Council of City of Canning dismissed

Under section 8.25 of the Act and on the recommendation of the Minister under section 8.24(3) of the Act, the council of the City of Canning is dismissed as from the day on which this order comes into operation.

4. Commissioners appointed

Under sections 8.33, 2.39 and 2.40 of the Act —

- (a) the following people are appointed as commissioners of the City of Canning until a new council is elected and holds its first meeting
 - (i) Mr Steven Cole;
 - (ii) Mr David Gray;
 - (iii) Mrs Stephanie (Steve) Smith;

and

(b) Mr Steven Cole is appointed to be the chairperson of the commissioners.

5. Poll date fixed for election of new council of City of Canning

Under section 8.34 of the Act, 17 October 2015 is fixed as the day for any poll needed for the election of a new council for the City of Canning.

6. Directions as to terms of office of new councillors of City of Canning

- (1) The directions in this clause are given under section 9.62 of the Act.
- (2) For the purposes of sections 2.28 and 4.78 of the Act and Schedule 4.2 to the Act, and despite clauses 1, 2 and 5 of that Schedule, the returning officer is directed to fix terms of office for the councillors who are elected on 17 October 2015 that result in
 - (a) as near as practicable to ½ of them retiring in 2017; and
 - (b) the remainder of them retiring in 2019.
- (3) For the purposes of section 2.28 of the Act, the returning officer is directed to fix the term of office of the mayor who is elected on 17 October 2015, so that the term of office ends in October 2019.

N. HAGLEY, Clerk of the Executive Council.