Supplement to Government Gazette

WESTERN AUSTRALIA.

[Published by Authority.]

[REGISTERED AT THE GENERAL POST OFFICE, PERTH, FOR TRANSMISSION BY POST AS A NEWSPAPER.]

PERTH: FRIDAY, DECEMBER

[1915.

THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATIONS ACT, 1906.

Cottesloe Municipality.

Ex. Co. 4145; P.W. 3056/15.

IT is hereby notified, for general information, that His Excellency the Governor in Council has approved of the attached By-laws of the Cottesloe Municipality in accordance with "The Municipal Corporations Act,

Under Secretary for Works and Industries.

MUNICIPALITY OF COTTESLOE. By-law No. 1.

IN pursuance of the powers conferred in that behalf under Section 204 of "The Municipal Corporations Act, 1906," the Council of the Municipality of Cottesloe hereby repeals all By-laws heretofore made by such Municipality, with the exception of By-law No. 37 re Special Roll for Loan Poll, gazetted 23rd July, 1915, and By-laws made under "The Health Act, 1911-12" (gazetted on the 5th March, 1915), which are hereby confirmed, and in accordance with the provisions of Sections 179 and 181 of "The Municipal Corporations Act, 1906," makes and publishes the following By-laws in lieu of the By-laws so repealed.

Passed by the Council of the Municipality of Cottesloe, this 25th day of May, 1915.

F. D. NORTH,

[L.S.]

Mayor.

THOS. H. BLAKE, Town Clerk.

BY-LAW No. 2.

STANDING ORDERS.

1. The proceedings and business of the Council shall be conducted according to the following regulations which shall be called the Standing Orders.

Chairman.

2. In the construction of this By-law, unless the context otherwise requires, the word "Mayor" shall include the Councillor chosen to preside at any meeting of the Council.

Open doors.

3. The business of the Council shall be conducted with open doors, except upon such occasions as the Council shall by resolution otherwise decide, which resolution may be moved without notice.

Quorum.

4. At any meeting of the Council a quorum shall consist of not less than three Councillors in addition to the Mayor. Every meeting shall proceed to business so soon after the time stated in the summons as there shall be a sufficient number of Councillors in attendance to constitute a quorum.

Adjournment in absence of quorum.

5. If at any meeting a quorum be not present within a quarter of an hour after the time appointed for such neeting, the majority of the Councillors present, or any one Councillor if only one be present, or the Town Clerk, if no Councillor be present, may adjourn such meeting to any date not later than seven (7) days from the date of such adjournment.

Who shall preside.
6. The Mayor, if present, shall preside at all meetings of the Council, and in his absence, or if, after being present, he retires, one of the Councillors chosen by the Councillors present shall preside.

Count out.

Count out.

7. If at any time during any meeting of the Council a Councillor shall call the attention of the Mayor to the fact that a quorum is not present, the Mayor shall thereupon suspend the proceedings of the meeting for a period of two minutes, and if a quorum be not present at the expiration of such period, the meeting shall be deemed to have been counted out, and the Mayor shall adjourn it to gone future day. adjourn it to some future day.

Record of Councillors present.
8. At all meetings at which there are not present three Councillors and the Mayor, or four Councillors, as the case may be, or at which the Council is counted out for want of a quorum, the names of the Councillors then present shall be recorded in the minute book.

Confirmation of minutes.

9. The minutes of any preceding meeting, whether ordinary or special, not previously confirmed, shall be submitted as the first business at all meetings of the Council in order to their confirmation; and no discussion shall be permitted thereon except as to their accuracy as a record of the proceedings, and the said minutes shall then be signed by the Mayor as by Section 176 of the Act required.



Government Gazette

PERTH, FRIDAY, 3 DECEMBER 1915 No. 51a

© STATE OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

CONTENTS

Municipal Corporations Act, 1906—Cottesloe Municipality.