

Government Bazette

OF

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

(Published by Authority at 3 p.m.)

(REGISTERED AT THE GENERAL POST OFFICE. PERTH. FOR TRANSMISSION BY POST AS A NEWSPAPER.)

No. 47.1

PERTH: MONDAY, 15th JUNE

[1959.

UNIVERSITY OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA ACT, 1911-1957.

4th May, 1959.

AMENDING STATUTE No. 1 of 1959.

Amendment to Statute No. 8-The Faculties.

SECTION 12 is amended to read as follows:— The Faculty of Science shall consist of the professors and lecturers in the Departments of Anatomy, Biochemistry, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Physics, Physiology, Psychology and Zoology and in such other departments as may from time to time be established within the Faculty, and of the Professor of Agriculture, the Conservator of Forests or his deputy and such other particulture, the conservator of Forests or his deputy and such other the conservator of the professor persons as may from time to time be appointed by the Senate on the nomination of the foregoing and on the recommendation of the Professorial Board.

AMENDING STATUTE No. 2 OF 1959.

Amendment to Statute No. 19-The Professorial Board.

SECTION 1 is amended to read as follows:-

There shall be constituted a Board to be called "Professorial rd," which shall consist of the following members:— Board,"

- (a) The Professors of the University;
- (b) the Dean of each Faculty;
- (c) the Head of each Department and during the absence of the Head of any Department from his duties at the University the person appointed by the Senate as the Acting Head of that Department;
- (d) such Lecturers as the Senate may appoint, on the recom-mendation of the Professorial Board, but the number of such Lecturers in the Professorial Board at the same time shall not exceed three.

AMENDING STATUTE No. 3 OF 1959.

Amendment to Statute No. 18—Conditions of Awarding Hackett Bursaries and Hackett Studentships and Scholarships.

SECTIONS 3 and 4 are amended to read as follows:-

3. Hackett Studentships shall be awarded under the following conditions:

Postgraduate studentships hereinafter described as Studentships are open to graduates of the University of Western Australia for tenure at that University or at another Australian University or at a University outside (1) Postgraduate studentships hereinafter Australia.