

[641]

Government Gazette

OF

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

(Published by Authority at 3 p.m.)

(REGISTERED AT THE GENERAL POST OFFICE, PERTH, FOR TRANSMISSION BY POST AS A NEWSPAPER)

No. 24]

PERTH: FRIDAY, 11th MARCH

[1966

ELECTORAL DISTRICTS ACT, 1947-1965.

Notice of Proposals Pursuant to Paragraph (b) of Subsection (1) of Section 3.

WE, the undersigned Commissioners, appointed under the abovementioned Act hereby publish our proposals for the division of the following three areas of the State as constituted under the Act, viz:—

Metropolitan Area;

Agricultural, Mining and Pastoral Area; North-West-Murchison-Eyre Area

into fifty-one Electoral Districts for the purpose of section 3: and further for the adjustment of the boundaries of existing Electoral Provinces pursuant to paragraph (d) of subsection 1 of that section.

In making the division of the Metropolitan Area and of the Agricultural, Mining and Pastoral Area into Electoral Districts, the Act provides that the Commissioners may adopt in respect of the statutory quotas a margin of allowance to be used whenever necessary but not in any case to a greater extent than ten per centum more or less. The maximum and minimum of the statutory quotas are as follow:—

Area	Quota	Maximum	Minimum
Metropolitan	11,523	12,675	10,371
Agricultural, Mining and			
Pastoral	5,822	6,404	5,240

The proposals are subject to revision by the Commissioners in their final report.

Any objection to these proposals must be lodged with the Secretary to the Commissioners not later than two months from the date of the publication of this notice. The objection shall be in writing and give a concise and explicit statement of the grounds and be accompanied by a summary of the evidence in support. Both documents shall be signed by the person making the objection and the notice of objection shall state an address within one mile of the General Post Office at Perth, at which notices and documents may be served on the objector.

The documents shall be addressed as follows:-

Mr. J. F. McIntyre, Secretary to the Electoral Commissioners, State Electoral Department, 54-58 Barrack Street,

Perth.

The following are the proposals:-

Metropolitan Area.

The Metropolitan Area, as defined in subparagraph (i) of paragraph (b) of Section 4 of the Act, shall be divided into twenty-three in lieu of twenty-two Electoral Districts as at present. The several proposed new Electoral Districts are named hereunder together with the existing Provinces as determined by the Commissioners in their final report published in the Gazette of the 29th May, 1964, and the complete and contiguous Electoral Districts proposed to be included in each Province the boundaries of which will be adjusted accordingly where necessary.

A description of the boundaries of the proposed Electoral Districts appears under the heading "Metropolitan Area" in the schedule to this notice.

For the purpose of comparison a map numbered "1" is annexed. The boundaries of the 22 existing Electoral Districts in the Metropolitan Area are delineated thereon, together with the boundaries proposed for the new 23 Electoral Districts. The written descriptions of the boundaries of the Electoral Districts as set out in the schedule under the heading "Metropolitan Area", shall prevail in case of doubt as the map and the notes thereto are intended only as a visual guide.