

Government Gazette

OF

WESTERN AUSTRALIA

(Published by Authority at 12 noon.)

No. 4]

PERTH: FRIDAY, 21st JANUARY

[1972

Electoral Districts Act, 1947-1965. NOTICE OF PROPOSALS.

THE Electoral Commissioners appointed under section 12 (3) of the abovementioned Act hereby publish their proposals pursuant to section 3 of the Act for the division of the following three areas of the State as constituted under the Act, viz:—

Metropolitan Area;

Agricultural, Mining and Pastoral Area; North-West-Murchison-Eyre Area

into fifty-one electoral districts, and for the adjustment of the boundaries of existing electoral provinces.

In making the division of the Metropolitan Area and of the Agricultural, Mining and Pastoral Area into electoral districts, the Act provides that the Commissioners shall fix a quota of electors for the electoral districts within each area and that this quota shall be taken as the basis for such division, with the proviso that the Commissioners may adopt a margin of allowance to be used whenever necessary but not in any case to a greater extent than ten per centum, more or less. The present redivision was directed by proclamation on the 3rd September, 1971. As at that date the statutory quotas in each of the said Areas and the maximum and minimum number of electors permitted in each electoral district upon redivision are as follows:—

.UWB.—			
Area	Quota	Maximum	Minimum
Metropolitan	15,496	17,045	13,947
Agricultural,			
Mining and			
Pastoral	7.489	8.237	6.741

The proposals are subject to revision by the Commissioners in their final report.

Any person wishing to object to these proposals should lodge an objection with the Secretary to the Commissioners not later than two months from the date of the publication of this notice. The objection should be in writing signed by the objector and give a concise and explicit statement of the grounds upon which it is made, and of the relevant facts which are considered to support such grounds.

An objection should be addressed as follows:

Mr. J. F. McIntyre, Secretary to the Electoral Commissioners, State Electoral Department, 3rd Floor, Public Trust Office Building, 565 Hay Street, Perth 6000.

The following are the proposals:-

Metropolitan Area:

This Area as defined in section 4(b)(i) of the Act shall be divided into 23 electoral districts, the same number as at present. The names of the proposed electoral districts are given hereunder, together with the names of the electoral provinces. The complete and contiguous electoral districts proposed to be included in each electoral province are also stated hereunder.

A description of the boundaries of the proposed electoral districts appears under the heading "Metropolitan Area" in the schedule to this notice. The boundaries of the electoral provinces will be adjusted so as to conform with the boundaries of the electoral districts comprised within each province.

For the purpose of comparison a map numbered "1" is annexed. The boundaries of the 23 existing electoral districts in the Metropolitan Area are delineated thereon, together with the boundaries proposed for the 23 new electoral districts.

A sheet of maps numbered "2" is also annexed. The map marked "A" on that sheet shows the delineation of the boundaries proposed for the five electoral provinces comprised in the Metropolitan Area and the electoral districts proposed to be included in each province.

The number of electors ascertained as at the 3rd September, 1971 (the date when the proclamation for this redivision was issued) in each proposed electoral district and the total number of electors for the relevant electoral province are shown on the sheet of maps numbered "2".