MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT, REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES.

11° Elizabeth II.. No. LXXIV.

No. 74 of 1962.

AN ACT to amend the Members of Parliament, Reimbursement of Expenses, Act, 1953-1959.

[Assented to 30th November, 1962.]

BE it enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

Short title and citation.

- 1. (1) This Act may be cited as the Members of Parliament, Reimbursement of Expenses, Act Amendment Act, 1962.
- (2) In this Act the Members of Parliament, Reimbursement of Expenses, Act, 1953-1959, is referred to as the principal Act.

- 1962.] Members of Parliament, [No. 74. Reimbursement of Expenses.
- (3) The principal Act as amended by this Act may be cited as the Members of Parliament, Reimbursement of Expenses, Act, 1953-1962.
- 2. This Act shall come into operation on the first Commencement. day of January, nineteen hundred and sixty-three.

3. The First Schedule to the principal Act is First Schedule repealed and re-enacted as follows:—

repealed and re-enacted.

FIRST SCHEDULE.		Section 2.
Province or District for which the Member of Parliament is Elected.	Maximum Rate per Annum of Reimbursement.	
Item 1.	£	
Province—		
Metropolitan, Suburban, West	600	
District—		
Balcatta, Bayswater, Beeloo, Belmont, Canning, Claremont, Cockburn, Cottesloe, East Melville, Fre- mantle, Karrinyup, Maylands, Melville, Mount Hawthorn, Mount Lawley, Nedlands, Perth, South Perth, Subiaco, Swan, Victoria Park, Wembley		
Item 2.		
Province—		
North	950	
District—		
Gascoyne, Kimberley, Murchison, Pilbara	OE0	
Item 3.		
Province—		
North-East, South-East	850	
District—		
Boulder-Eyre, Merredin-Yilgarn, Roe	850	
Item 4.		
Province or District not mentioned in Items 1, 2 or 3 of this Schedule		

Second Schedule to the principal Act is repealed and re-enacted as follows—

[1962.

Section 2B.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Office occupied by the Member of Parliament.	Maximum Rate per Annum of Reimbursement.
	£
Premier	600
Deputy Premier	300
Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council	300
Minister of the Crown (other than the Premier, Deputy Premier, and the Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council)	200
Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly	200
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly	100
Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council	
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly (when there is a recognised third party in the Legislative Assembly)	75
recognised party under the Parliamentary Allowances Act, 1911	
President of the Legislative Council	150
Speaker of the Legislative Assembly	150
Chairman of Committees in the Legislative Assembly	D C
Chairman of Committees in the Legislative Council	Pag Jan
Government Whip in the Legislative Assembly	000
Opposition Whip in the Legislative Assembly	150