MARITIME ARCHAEOLOGY AMENDMENT ACT 1997

No. 44 of 1997

AN ACT to provide a register of discoverers of ancient shipwrecks.

[Assented to 9 December 1997.]

The Parliament of Western Australia enacts as follows:

Short title

1. This Act may be cited as the *Maritime Archaeology Amendment Act 1997*.

Commencement

2. This Act shall come into operation on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

Principal Act

3. In this Act the *Maritime Archaeology Act 1973* is referred to as the principal Act.

New section 24

4. The principal Act is amended by inserting after section 23 the following —

Register of discoverers of ancient shipwrecks

- **24.** (1) In order to give statutory recognition to the primary and secondary discoverers of ancient shipwrecks there shall be a register of discoverers of ancient shipwrecks constituted by Schedule 3 to this Act.
 - (2) In this section —

"ancient shipwreck" means any of the ships wrecked off the coast of Western Australia and known as the *Tryall*, the *Batavia*, the *Vergulde Draeck*, the *Zuytdorp*, or the *Zeewyk*; and

"primary discoverer" and **"secondary discoverer"** have the meanings given to those terms by the Select Committee on Ancient Shipwrecks *Report* tabled in the Legislative Assembly on 17 August 1994.

(3) The Third Schedule has effect.

,

New Third Schedule

 ${\bf 5.}~$ The principal Act is amended by inserting after the Second Schedule the following —

"

THIRD SCHEDULE

[s. 24]

[No. 44

REGISTER OF DISCOVERERS OF ANCIENT SHIPWRECKS

Name of Ship	Primary Discoverer/s	Secondary Discoverer/s
Tryall	Eric Christiansen	Naoom Haimson David Nelley John MacPherson Alan Robinson
Batavia	Henrietta Drake- Brockman Max Cramer Hugh Edwards Dave Johnson	Greg Allen Graham Cramer Bruce Melrose
Vergulde Draeck	Graeme Henderson	John Cowen Alan Henderson James Henderson Alan Robinson
Zuytdorp	Tom Pepper Phillip Playford	Tom Brady Graham Cramer Max Cramer Ada Drage

s. 5

Name of Ship	Primary Discoverer/s	Secondary Discoverer/s
Zeewyk	Harry Bingham Tom Brady Hugh Edwards	Max Cramer Colin Jack-Hinton Neil McLaghlan

,,