#### WESTERN AUSTRALIA

# AGRICULTURE PROTECTION BOARD AMENDMENT ACT

No. 95 of 1986

AN ACT to amend the Agriculture Protection Board Act 1950.

[Assented to 10 December 1986.]

BE it enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

## Short title

1. This Act may be cited as the Agriculture Protection Board Amendment Act 1986.

## Commencement

2. This Act shall come into operation on such day as is fixed by proclamation.

# **Principal Act**

3. In this Act the Agriculture Protection Board Act 1950\* is referred to as the principal Act.

[\*Reprinted as approved 31 August 1976 and amended by Act No. 98 of 1985.]

#### Section 5 amended

- 4. (1) Section 5 of the principal Act is amended—
  - (a) in subsection (3)—
    - (i) by deleting paragraph (a) and substituting the following paragraph—
      - ' (a) the Director of Agriculture, or his deputy, who shall be Chairman and the Chief Officer, who shall be the Chief Executive Officer, each by virtue of his office; "; and
    - (ii) in paragraph (b) by deleting "eight" and substituting the following—
      - " 9 ":
  - (b) by repealing subsection (4) and substituting the following subsections—
    - " (4) Of the 9 persons mentioned in subsection (3) (b)—
      - (a) not less than one and not more than 2 persons shall be chosen from a panel of the names of 7 persons submitted by the body known as the Primary Industry Association of Western Australia, of which persons—
        - (i) 5 shall represent different zones in the area specified in Schedule 1; and
        - (ii) 2 shall represent different zones in the area specified in Schedule 2;

- (b) one shall be chosen from a panel of the names of 6 persons submitted by the body known as the Pastoralists' and Graziers' Association of Western Australia, of which persons—
  - (i) 2 shall represent different zones in the area specified in Schedule 1; and
  - (ii) 4 shall represent different zones in the area specified in Schedule 2;
- (c) not less than 2 and not more than 5 persons shall be chosen from a panel of the names of 9 persons, each representing a different zone, submitted by the body known as the Country Shire Councils' Association of Western Australia; and
- (d) not less than one and not more than 5 persons shall be chosen from a panel of names comprised of one nomination from each authority, of a person able to represent his zone.
- (4a) A member of an authority shall resign from that office before accepting appointment to the Protection Board. ":
- (c) by repealing subsection (6); and
- (d) by repealing subsection (12) and substituting the following subsection—
  - "
    (12) Appointment as a member of the Protection Board does not render the Public Service Act 1978 or any other Act applying to persons as officers of the Public Service of the State, applicable to that person or prejudice the application to him of those Acts if they applied to him at the time of his appointment. ".
- (2) Each person holding office as a member of the Protection Board under section 5 (3) (b) of the principal Act immediately before the coming into operation of this section shall, upon the coming into operation of this section, vacate that office but, subject to the principal Act as amended by this Act, shall be eligible for reappointment as a member of the Protection Board.

#### Section 14 amended

- 5. Section 14 of the principal Act is amended by deleting paragraph (d) and substituting the following paragraph—
  - " (d) no contract made by the Protection Board the consideration of which exceeds \$100 000 shall have any force or effect unless sanctioned by the Governor; ".

# Schedule repealed and Schedules substituted

**6.** The Schedule to the principal Act is repealed and the following Schedules are substituted—

## SCHEDULE 1

Section 5 (4)

#### AGRICULTURE AREA

The portions of the State comprised of the following local government authorities—

Cities of-

Armadale Bunbury

Bunbury Canning Cockburn

Gosnells Wanneroo

Shires of-

Albany

Augusta-Margaret River

Beverley Boddington Boyup Brook

Bridgetown-Greenbushes

Brookton Broomehill Bruce Rock

Busselton Capel Carnamah

Chapman Valley Chittering Collie Coorow

Corrigin Cranbrook Cuballing Cunderdin

Dalwallinu Dandaragan Dardanup

Denmark

Donnybrook-Balingup

Dowerin

Dumbleyung Dundas Esperance

Gingin Gnowangerup

Gnowangeruj Goomalling Greenough Harvey

Irwin Jerramungup Kalamunda

Katanning Kellerberrin

Kent Kojonup Kondinin Koorda Kulin Lake Grace

Lake Grace Mandurah Manjimup Merredin Mingenew

Moora Morawa Mt Marshall

Mukinbudin Mullewa Mundaring Murray Nannup Narembeen Narrogin Northam Northhampton Nungarin Perenjori Pingelly Plantagenet Quairading Ravensthorpe Rockingham Serpentine-Jarrahdale

Tammin Three Springs Toodyay Trayning Victoria Plains Wagin Wandering Waroona West Arthur Westonia Wickepin Williams Wongan-Ballidu Woodanilling

Tambellup

Wyalkatchem Yilgarn York

Swan Towns of---

Albany Geraldton Kwinana

Narrogin Northam

# SCHEDULE 2

Section 5 (4)

#### PASTORAL AREA

The portions of the State comprised of the following local government authorities—

Shires of-

Boulder Broome Carnarvon Coolgardie Cue

Derby/West Kimberley

Dundas East Pilbara Exmouth Hall's Creek

Laverton

Leonora Meekatharra

Town of-

Kalgoorlie

Menzies Mt Magnet Murchison Port Hedland Roebourne Sandstone Shark Bay Upper Gascoyne West Pilbara

Wiluna

Wyndham-East Kimberley Yalgoo